12. Lichthouders


The light artwork is based on the gas holders, formerly located on the NRE site, in the shape of large, round storage spaces. Round, metal constructions of light elements are going to be placed on top of their 'footprints'. These elements will display a light spectacle supported by sound. The sound reflects former electronical music composed by Dick Raaijmakers, who used to work at the Philips' Natlab.  

Jonas Vorwerk won the Foederer Talent Award for which he competed against 150 artists who send in their concept.  On Monday June 26th 2017, the 9 nominees presented their ideas to the jury consisting of Ronald Ramakers (director of GLOW), Tom Weerts (Head of Technical Production GLOW), Frank van der Vloed (CEO Philips Lighting Benelux), Petra Hulst (architectural lighting designer at Philips Lighting), Elcke van Gorkum, (winner FTA 2016), Johan Daams (CEO Crowe Horwath Foederer) and Rob Schoonen (Art Editor Eindhovens Dagblad). 

This light artwork is supported by Foederer Talent Foundation and Philips Lighting Benelux.

Jonas Vorwerk
Visual artist, born in Eindhoven currently living in Rotterdam. Winner of the Foederer Talent Award 2017.

Jonas Vorwerk

Jonas is a multimedia artist who creates an environment that connects the digital world to tangible, real-life experiences.

photo: Bart van Overbeeke Fotografie